ULearn 2010: What I hope to gain from it

October 2, 2010 at 2:06 pm | Posted in Education | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

On Tuesday afternoon I’m getting on a plane to fly to Christchurch for ULearn 10.

ULearn is an annual education conference held in New Zealand. It is organised by Core-Ed. ULearn has a strong emphasis on using ICT tools in enhancing education. The tagline is “collaborate | innovate | educate”.

This is the first time I will be attending ULearn, so I’m quite excited to go along as I’ve heard there are always fantastic keynote speakers and many people to network with or share ideas with. It’s exciting that here in New Zealand we can get around 2000 educators together to share what they are doing to enhance teaching and learning in their classrooms or environments.

It’s also the first time that I will be presenting at a conference like this. I’m presenting with a colleague on Effective online teaching and learning.

So heading in to ULearn next week… What do I hope to gain from the conference?

  1. I really want to hear from national and world leaders in education. I want to know what they are doing, why they are doing it, and why this (hopefully) new way of educating is working so well.
  2. I want to learn about the innovative way different ICT and Web 2.0 tools are being used to teach.
  3. I want to come away feeling inspired and equipped to improve my teaching, in order to equip my students to learn in the best ways possible.

So those are my aims. I will also aim to get some blog posts up during ULearn. This did not work so well for me at Learning@School at the beginning of the year, so we’ll see what happens this time! Hopefully I’ll have more luck!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m looking forward to unlearn as well. Coming over from alberta Canada to present. See you there!

  2. Hi Nathaniel
    I too am going to ULearn for the first time, and appreciated your sharing your goals and expectations. Learning to blog is one of my goals too, after several false starts, which included naming one of my blogs “Learningtolive”, which was rather twee and looked like something to do with pickles! Look forward to the conference, Brian Edgar @bwedgar.twitter.com

  3. I too am a Ulearn first timer! Reading your post got me excited about what I will get from the conference. I feel very lucky that my school has allowed me to go. Good luck with your blogging! I look forward to hearing more about your Ulearn adventure.
    @melaniem8

  4. Good day!This was a really superb topic!
    I come from usa, I was luck to find your subject in digg
    Also I get much in your topic really thank your very much i will come daily

  5. Thanks for the comments. I look forward to meeting some of you at ulearn.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

